Welcome to GameBeat
Login Register
Games
544
Completions
869
Reviews
670
Sound Shapes
Wo33er

A rather simplistic platformer in which you’re a ball that can stick to certain walls and create notes in a progressing completing song as you proceed through the levels. The game’s gimmick is the sense that your actions are generating the music, and to an extent it works fantastically. The problem is that the gameplay loop is extremely simple and shallow, rolling your way to the end point with either little challenge or enough flexibility to have the challenge be anything but frustrating. On top of this there really aren’t that many tracks to play around with in the core game and other than the lure of paid DLC you’ll have to jump into the community created levels to find more substance.

5.5
13 Feb, 2016 (PS Vita)
Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse - Episode 2
Wo33er

I had high hopes for the second half of Broken Sword 5, having enjoyed the initial story build up and character developments of the first episode. Instead of going on with a bang it fell to the floor with a whimper. After months of minor play sessions I've seen it through and wouldn't recommend the investment, its a far cry from its now almost decimated legacy.

3.5
7 Nov, 2015 (PS Vita)
OlliOlli2: Welcome to Olliwood
Wo33er

Didn’t quite grab me as much as the first, which I’d put down to the inclusion of manuals resulting in a need for a single chained combo instead of a flurry of short and sweet tricks. Additionally the levels felt less engaging, with more emphasis placed on tough to navigate obstacles than on rails and rams to perform more interesting combos.

6.0
26 Jun, 2015 (PS Vita)
CounterSpy
Wo33er

Having heard numerous praise for this as a Metroidvania I was anticipating an experience comparable to the likes of Shadow Complex, and unfortunately had set my expectations too high from the offset. Less of a traditional Metroidvania I was led to believe CounterSpy is less grand-scale open world interconnectivity brilliance and more clever procedurally level segmented 2D platforming. There’s charm here and the games clever use of 2D-3D with gameplay placing emphasis on stealth fills a different itch that is equally sparsely itched. My biggest disappointments come from the games short length and repetition, with little variety added from the games attempt at character progression in weapon loadouts and character perks. I’ll be interested to see what the developers do next, hopefully with a larger budget and more ambitiously scaled project.

7.0
24 Jun, 2015 (PS Vita)
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
Wo33er

What a thrill. From beginning to end I surprised myself with how much I adore every aspect of my favourite instalment in the Metal Gear saga. Right from the introduction of The Boss and the Cobra unit, followed by the brilliant title sequence and song, all the way to one of the best concluding scenes in gaming there’s so much to adore about Metal Gear Solid 3. I’m hard pressed to think of another game that could easily be considered to having the best boss fight (The End), protagonist (Snake), antagonist (either The Boss or Ocelot), theme song (Snake Eater) and conclusion wrapped together in a beautiful, consistent and almost flawless package.

9.5
20 Jun, 2015 (PS Vita)
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
Wo33er

I’ve a love and hate relationship with the second Metal Gear Solid. The storytelling and frequent twists are sublime, the tanker episode the game begins with is an absolute treat from start to end and even the games tornado twisting conclusion (excluding the sword fight) is great. However the entire middle segment feels to be overly extended with extensive backtracking which isn’t aided by the repetitive level design of the oil rig itself, made more frustrating by being littered with Kojima troll in the form of randomly hidden claymore mines, surprise platforms that drop you to your death and explosive trip-wires galore. My least favourite game of my likely favourite game series; still great but flawed.

7.5
24 May, 2015 (PS Vita)
Broken Sword 5: The Serpent's Curse - Episode 1
Wo33er

This is my flight buddy having endured six long flight planes before coming to its episodic conclusion, though this is mostly thanks to the story having an extremely slow pace to start. Though I found my enjoyment grew dramatically as the episode passed the half way mark, where both plot and puzzles quickly become interesting and kept me engaged.

It's not quite the Broken Sword I was hoping for (and have ever since the second installment) but it's a step in the right direction, particularly so with the decision to go back to the 2D visuals which are gorgeous. I'll remain hopeful for the concluding episode to come.

7.0
20 Jan, 2015 (PS Vita)
Tearaway
Animal

Lovely little game with a very unique style. Slightly heavy on the gimmicks but when they work it creates something magical.

8.0
13 Jan, 2015 (PS Vita)
Tearaway
Wo33er

I never quite took to the aesthetics of Tearaway and didn't feel the desire to pick it up until the price hit rock bottom in a recent sale.

An absolutely beautiful game that oozes passion and attention to detail that's rare. Never have I played a game that uses so many different input and control mechanics, demonstrating the vast capabilities of its brilliant console, and all so flawlessly and well ingrained in the games core gameplay.

Easily one of the best games for the PS Vita and a fantastic fully featured platformer, it's well worth the investment.

9.0
13 Jan, 2015 (PS Vita)
Fez
Wo33er

A game I completed first back in 2012 that I’ve somehow grown to under appreciate. This is a real platform gem with a superb central gameplay mechanic adding vast complexities and obscurities to the games world and its many puzzles. There’s many moments of awe and surprise as you solve geniusly designed puzzles which can even expand outside of the game or even require learning the language of the world, all of which are even amazingly outdone by the games concluding reveal that still blew me away the second time.

8.5
20 Oct, 2014 (PS Vita)
OlliOlli
Wo33er

A brilliantly fluid 2D skateboarding platformer that’s brutally difficult requiring pinpoint precision to string along a single combo from level start to end. There’s a wealth highscores and harder levels to beat, but I was felt accomplished enough just making it through every level. A worthwhile pick-up but gets a bit repetitive before long.

7.0
30 May, 2014 (PS Vita)
Wipeout 2048
Animal

I think I finally 'get' WipEout. It's like a highly technical F-Zero and it is awesome! It helps that it's easily the best looking game I've played on the Vita too. It has a rather steep learning curve and trying not to pinball off the sides of the track is how you'll spend most of your time at first, bit when it clicks and you're at one with the machine you'll feel like a futuristic Schumacher weaving through the pack. It's a shame we're unlikely to see anymore. =( Ah well, on to the HD/Fury dlc.

8.0
7 Feb, 2014 (PS Vita)
Guacamelee!
Animal

Olé! Metroidvania with a Mexican twist. I really enjoyed this, the art was good (they love their memes), puzzles and platforming were tricky and the combat rewarding. Recommended!

8.0
5 Jan, 2014 (PS Vita)
Killzone Mercenary
Animal

Very impressed with this, it's pretty much a proper FPS on a handheld. I really liked how each map seemed to have a number of routes to each objective, coupled with the arms dealer stuff giving the player a lot of options as to how to play the game.

Unlike Paul I did find it quite short and that was after upping the difficulty half-way through as I was finding it a bit easy. Although it does look like the devs stuffed a lot in there to warrant replaying missions.

Shooting mechanics were good - popping heads with a shotgun felt almost as satisfying as it did in Killzone 2. ;)

And the mulitplayer is good, although the limitations of the hardware show themselves in the form of small maps and a low player count.

7.0
3 Jan, 2014 (PS Vita)
Sine Mora
Zenball

Oddly depressing bullet hell shooter about fluffy anthropomorphic animals accidentally committing patricide and genocide. Controls feel good, bosses are pretty fun, but apart from a few annoying difficulty spikes it's pretty easy. It looks lovely though.

6.0
31 Dec, 2013 (PS Vita)
Killzone Mercenary
Zenball

I was totally floored by this. It looks incredible, and is basically a full fledged AAA console shooter in handheld form. I've never played a Killzone game before, but am going to track down and play the others, even though I've read they're quite different. The shooting is really tight, you can turn on motion sensing for aiming making it easy to make small adjustments to pull off headshots. As you play you score money based on headshots, double kills, melee takedowns, stealth etc (you can stealth through pretty much every encounter and the stealth, contrary to what I've read, is very good), and you use that money to buy weapons, armor and special abilites from black market weapon crates dotted around the levels - these upgrades can then be used in multiplayer, which I didn't try as I didn't have enough space on my card to patch, but is meant to be really good. The campaign is a lot longer than I read about also (some places I read it's 3-4 hours, which is bullshit), especially if you try to stealth a lot. Each stage also has challenges associated with it (complete using full stealth, using explosives etc), which really adds to the replay value and which I will definitely be doing. Overall, awesome - it's criminal how poorly this reviewed, what the fuck.

9.0
28 Dec, 2013 (PS Vita)
Guacamelee!
Zenball

What an awesome game. Metroidvania style platforming, melee brawling and exploring, beautiful graphics that look amazing on the Vita's screen, brilliant combo/fighting system, challenging, lovely controls, overall huge fun. Already heard a lot of good things about it and it delivered.

9.0
26 Dec, 2013 (PS Vita)
Gravity Rush
Zenball

As I'm a Vita noob who prior to about 3 months or so ago had no interest in the Vita and knew nothing about any of its games, I came to Gravity Rush not knowing a single thing about it other than it was called Gravity Rush and I'd got it free off PS+. For some reason I'd assumed it was a puzzle game, so when it loaded and I discovered it was an open world game in which you control a cute girl with amnesia who has a cat that gives her the ability to manipulate gravity enabling you to traverse the giant floating steam punk city she wakes up in to collect gems and do races and follow the preposterous but light hearted and enjoyable story, I was surprised. It was excellent. The controls take some getting used to, and some things like sliding along the ground never work as they rely entirely on touch and motion controls, but you eventually become pretty adept at launching yourself at super high speed across the beautiful vistas that the game presents you with. Would have kept it after completing it to finish all the challenges but had to make space on my card. Will reinstall and fully complete when I get enough storage. Unique, fun and highly recommended - haven't played anything like it. Brilliant showcase for the Vita.

9.0
24 Dec, 2013 (PS Vita)
Guacamelee!: El Diablo's Domain
Wo33er

A little one the short side, this DLC adds a brief additional level and three character costumes which vary your abilities slightly. It was a little expensive given how cheap I managed to pick up the core title itself.

6.0
28 Nov, 2013 (PS Vita)
Guacamelee!
Wo33er

A fantastic Metroidvania game with some incredibly challenging platforming and combat segments that had me wanting to throw and cuddle the Vita at the same time. The combat is particularly special, feeling somewhat similar to Batman Arkham with its fluid emphasis on chains and combos. Played it so much that I got the platinum trophy.

8.5
25 Nov, 2013 (PS Vita)